We are Ireland’s Oldest Walking Group, an unpretentious, friendly and easygoing band of hillwalkers, about thirty strong, based in Dublin, with a long, (possibly) fascinating history, and a unique, faintly absurd spirit, (occasionally necessitating the use of silly hats).
The Brotherhood, or more informally – ‘The Lugs’, was formed in 1903, on the summit of Lugnaquilla, and take a lot of our spirit and organisational structure from this original group. (More information on our compelling history here.) This, at times, may involve certain arcane rituals and titles, the aforementioned silly hats, and an enjoyment of the mildly preposterous.
Led by the Master in The Field , we follow a schedule of walks laid out on a bi-annual basis in our walks programme. A shorter ramble is often undertaken by the less physically impressive specimens within the group. (Flexibility in such matters being one of the advantages of our semi-informal nature!)
Post perambulation, it is customary to retire to a suitable hostelry for some well-earned refreshments and lively post-walk confabulation.